Estimated reading time: 5 minute(s)
In December 2018, Google announced their decision to shut down Google+ for consumers in April 2019. Other Google products (such as Gmail, Google Photos, Google Drive, YouTube) were not shut down as part of the consumer Google+ shutdown and you can continue using those products.
The Google Account you use to sign in to these services will remain. Note that photos and videos already backed up in Google Photos will not be deleted. You can learn more about this from here.
What happened to my Google+ content?
They are in the process of deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts and Google+ pages. This process will take a few months to complete, and content may remain through this time. In the meantime, if you previously created content on Google+, you may be able to download and save your remaining Google+ content and delete your Google+ profile. You may also be able to view and delete your remaining Google+ activity.
If I also use Google+ with my G Suite account, for example at work or school, how will I be impacted?
Google+ for G Suite will continue as a way for people across an organization to have discussions. Learn more about how they’re continuing their investment in Google+ for G Suite. If you’re not sure if your organization uses G Suite, you can check here. G Suite customers may see some changes to Google+ features related to the consumer Google+ shutdown. You can find more details here or you can talk to your G Suite administrator to learn more.
See the full FAQ for more details about the consumer Google+ shutdown.