Twitter is rolling out a new feature called ‘soft block’ that would allow its web users to remove or restrict a follower without blocking them.
A soft block is different from a block because it allows a user to still see your tweets and direct message you, but they won’t see your tweets on your feed. That said, when you remove a follower, they can follow you again if they want.
The feature will come in handy to users who do not want to completely block a user but want to distance themselves from such accounts. Users should however keep in mind that the removed accounts can follow the user who had removed them again. Twitter will not notify users when they have been soft blocked or removed from someone’s account. If you completely block a user, they cannot see what you have posted at all nor does it allow you to send a direct message to the person.
How to use the Twitter soft block feature
To soft block a follower, head to your profile, click followers, click the three-dot menu next to a follower, and then click the option “Remove this follower.” (You can see what that option looks like in an image from Twitter at the top of this post.) A follower you remove won’t be notified of the change.
Twitter is also testing a feature called the Heads-Up feature which seems to be working for some Android and iOS users. Twitter noted that it is testing prompts that will alert users before they get into a heated or intense or heated conversation.
Twitter noted that the prompts are aimed at supporting healthy conversation. Twitter will notify users about conversations that can be intense before they tweet in a conversation. When users reply to tweets, Twitter will show prompts that read, “Let’s look out for each other.”
“Ever want to know the vibe of a conversation before you join in? We’re testing prompts on Android and iOS that give you a heads-up if the convo you’re about to enter could get heated or intense. This is a work in progress as we learn how to better support healthy conversation,” Twitter posted on its website.