When you accidentally send a message to someone who is not supposed to receive it, WhatsApp’s ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature comes in handy. And there are times when you can delete a message that was meant to be deleted for the recipient as well. With the newly added ability to undo the ‘Delete for Me’ action, this situation can now be brought under control.
WhatsApp has announced that it will now give you a 5-second window to undo an accidental ‘Delete for Me’ action. If you find yourself in this situation, you can easily undo this and keep the message in the chat for yourself.
After retrieving the message, you can either delete it for everyone or keep it for yourself. Individual and group chats can both use this feature. For those unfamiliar, the feature was beta-tested for both Android and iOS in August. It is now available for users of Android and iOS.
This new feature is an extension of the ‘Delete for Everyone’ option, which was introduced in 2017 to delete messages sent to the wrong person. This had a 7-minute window at first, but it was recently extended to 2 days and 12 hours.
WhatsApp’s new undo option for deleting messages complements the recently introduced WhatsApp Avatars. Like Facebook and Instagram, the Meta-owned messaging platform now allows you to create a digital version of yourself and send it as a sticker.